- Languages: the      Qualifications
- Tips for Exam

You or your group may be interested in working towards a qualification to formalise your new language skills.

The table below shows the variety of qualifications available for modern languages.

There are different levels of qualifications defined by the National Framework developed by
the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). This framework has been used as a basis to produce National Language Standards. The individual qualifications at each level are administered by various examination and qualification boards.

The National Language Standards also equate to the European Framework developed by the Council of Europe.

Some qualifications, such as LCCI and OCR are more work-oriented while others, such as
GCSE and Open College, are more leisure-oriented.

Access will take you beyond Level 1 and working towards Level 2 of the framework.
Further Access to be published at a later date will take you up to Level 3.

You can find links to the websites of the QCA, the Council of Europe and the individual boards in Language Organisations .

You can also find advice on how to prepare for language examinations and assessments in Tips for Exam Preparation .

National Language

level 1
(Entry Level)

Council of Europe
A2 Waystage level
National Language

level 2
(Foundation Level)

Council of Europe

B1 Threshold level
National Language
level 3
(Intermediate Level)

Council of Europe
B2 Vantage level
  GCSE A level
(Foreign Languages in Commerce)
NVQ Level 1 NVQ Level 2 NVQ Level 3
OCR (RSA) Certificate
in Business Language
Competence: Entry level
OCR (RSA) CBLC: Operational
  Open College: OCN  
Elementary GNVQ Intermediate GNVQ Advanced GNVQ

· A language GNVQ module can only be studied as part of a complete GNVQ qualification,
usually Business or Tourism.
· NVQs are mainly a work-based qualification, although they may be delivered/assessed by a college.