- Languages:
  The   Qualifications   Map
- Tips for Exam

You or your group may be interested in working towards a qualification to formalise your new language skills.

The table below shows the variety of qualifications available for modern languages.

There are different levels of qualifications defined by the National Framework developed by
the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). This framework has been used as a basis
to produce National Language Standards. The individual qualifications at each level are
administered by various examination and qualification boards.

The National Language Standards also equate to the European Framework developed by the
Council of Europe.

Some qualifications, such as LCCI and OCR are more work-oriented while others, such as
GCSE and Open College, are more leisure-oriented.

Access will take you beyond Level 1 and working towards Level 2 of the framework. Access French 2 will take you up to Level 3, OCR Intermediate level and GCSE.

You can find links to the websites of the QCA, the Council of Europe and the individual boards
in Language Organisations .

You can also find advice on how to prepare for language examinations and assessments in
Tips for Exam Preparation

National Language

level 1
(Entry Level)

Council of Europe
A2 Waystage level
National Language

level 2
(Foundation Level)

Council of Europe

B1 Threshold level
National Language
level 3
(Intermediate Level)

Council of Europe
B2 Vantage level
  GCSE A level
(Foreign Languages in Commerce)
NVQ Level 1 NVQ Level 2 NVQ Level 3
OCR (RSA) Certificate
in Business Language
Competence: Entry level
OCR (RSA) CBLC: Operational
  Open College: OCN  
Elementary GNVQ Intermediate GNVQ Advanced GNVQ

· A language GNVQ module can only be studied as part of a complete GNVQ qualification,
usually Business or Tourism.
· NVQs are mainly a work-based qualification, although they may be delivered/assessed by a college.